Eid Mubarak!

I have to apologize for my lateness and the fact that I’m not posting original material here. But since I didn’t have a chance to write anything about Eid al Adha, which occurred last week, I wanted to at least do a post with information about it. Here’s a cute article I found about a mother explaining the holiday to her young son. And here’s a brief description I found of the hajj pilgrimage. The mother’s story starts below. Enjoy!

Saima Sheikh of Allen: Why we give thanks
The Dallas Morning News
12:00 AM CST on Sunday, November 21, 2010

Saima Sheikh of Allen is a stay-at-home mom and volunteer. She is also a Community Voices volunteer columnist. Her e-mail address is saima_mahfooz@hotmail.com.

“Do you know what tomorrow is?” I recently asked my son. He answered with a wide grin, “Yes, Mom, tomorrow is Eid, and I don’t have to go to school.”

I smiled. “But what do you know about Eid?”

He replied, “Well, we get ready and go to our mosque. We pray, eat and then I get my presents. Will I get presents tomorrow?”

“Yes, you will, but do you know why we celebrate this Eid?” I asked him.

“I think I do, but can you tell me about it again, Mom?” …

One response to “Eid Mubarak!

  1. Bond, Schoeneck King PLLC declared that 17 of its partners have been completely named the best Attorneys in the united states 2013 for the 12 months for his or her observe community: JOHN D. ALLEN, Syracuse, litigation Trusts Estates; R. DANIEL BORDONI, Syracuse, litigation labor and employment; STEPHEN A. DONATO, Syracuse, litigation individual bankruptcy; THOMAS S. EVANS, Syracuse, corporate law; DAVID M. FERRARA, Syracuse, employment law administration; RICHARD D. Hole, Syracuse, personnel many advantages (ERISA) law; STEPHEN L. JOHNSON, Syracuse, true estate law; PETER A. JONES, Syracuse, labor law administration; JAMES E. MACKIN, Syracuse, trusts and estates; VIRGINIA C. ROBBINS, Syracuse, environmental law; THOMAS R. SMITH, Syracuse, litigation environmental; SUBHASH VISWANATHAN, Syracuse, instruction law; DENNIS C. BROWN, Fort Myers, tax law; NICHOLAS J. D JR., Albany, employment law administration; LOUIS P. DILORENZO, Ny city, labor law administration; HERMES FERNANDEZ, Albany, health and wellbeing care law; and EDWARD P. HOURIHAN JR., Rochester, construction law.
    http://www.spunka.se/omspunks.asp?p=4

Leave a Reply

