Monday’s Music: Mos Def

In honor of my ummi, who visited me in my new place this past weekend, I’m putting up Mos Def’s “Umi Says.” My ummi is the most selfless person I know. She always comes through in times of need and she didn’t disappoint this time. I wish I had an adequate way to repay her. I hope that when my son grows up (who’s on my lap watching me type this right now), I can be as good to him, insha’allah. For now I say, thank you, Ummi, and here’s to you!

Oh, a side note: When I was a teenager, I sort of met Mos Def. He came out to an underground hip-hop event called Da Cipha that my sister put on in New York City. My job was to get the attendees’ contact information. I have his signature, Dante Smith, on the sign-up sheet a few times.

Leave a Reply

